Posted: June 29, 2011 by cyclechicster in Red-Eye to London
Tags: , , ,

So this video has caused a minor uproar on Twitter as Cesc’s quotes have circulated via The Guardian. Unfortunately, the translations are correct. However, the media are (omg what a surprise) capitalizing on these quotes.

This is what I can catch, some of it is in Catalán and I don’t understand it, so unlike the Don Balón translation, this will be slightly incomplete.

Reporter: You can’t resolve anything now, can you?

CF: Nonono–

R: but you can relax about it now?

CF: Exactly, at the moment I don’t have anything to say and there’s nothing to discuss.

R: you’re just getting in good physical condition to be ready for the start of the season, right?

CF: Of course, I’m already doing my part, and doing what I can–

R: [two reporters talk at once] Are you relaxed/content at your club? [the other asks if he is an optimist]

CF: yes, yes, I’m very relaxed

R: [in Catalán] What about the market?

CF: What market?

R: the transfer market [not sure about this next part] Are you in it?

CF: Me? No, if something happens it’s because it has to; I believe that when a player is in the market, it’s because his club doesn’t want him, but I don’t have that problem so I’m calm.

R: Are you an optimist?

CF: Yes, I’m optimistic about everything, I don’t know what you’re referring to.

 

Comments
  1. Mpumi says:

    Are you an optimist? wtf!!! the sooner this window closes the better.

  2. Typical Press triying to wind up the Arsenal football fans trying to take the English for mugs 50m pay up or shut up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Jan says:

    Bad translation of some crucial parts. And then people complain about the media spinning. Some bloggers are not better.

  4. Gavin says:

    Thanks for the translation,Nice to see what he really said and in context.Yesterday the qoutes were made out to look like he was saying Arsenal are forcing him out. The sad part is the translation is deliberately wrong to create a headline.

  5. Darren says:

    Watching that, I’m just glad I am not famous. ‘Get out of my personal space!!’

    No matter what Cesc says, people are going to take it incorrectly. He simply cannot win, no matter what he thinks, says or does.

Leave a Reply

